SHP Snow Day

2019 Oilman of the Year

November 14, 2019

Dave Slater, Executive VP and COO of Signal Hill Petroleum, is awarded the 2019 Oilman of the Year.

Signal Hill Petroleum is honored to announce their Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Dave Slater, as Oilman of the Year. Due to his multi-faceted role, expertise and contributions to the industry, Mr. Slater was selected to be the 2019 Oilman of the Year. This award is presented by the Oilman of the Year association and has been giving this honor to industry legends for over the last 39 years.


The Oilman of the Year association hosts an annual golf tournament in which funds and proceeds are given to the R.M. Pyles Boys Camp and the Make a Wish Foundation. Immediately following the golf tournament, participants gather for the award ceremony. The awardees and guests are not knowledgeable of the winner until the announcement is made. The award winner is someone who has contributed significantly to the California Oil and Gas industry over an extended amount of time.


With more than 30 years of experience, Mr. Slater has a wealth of firsthand knowledge about the oil and gas industry. He has been a part of Signal Hill Petroleum since 1998. Mr. Slater has been an important part of Signal Hill Petroleum’s growth in the last decade. As the head of command on a daily basis, Mr. Slater guides a team of more than 100 employees in production operations, drilling, exploration, real estate management, and community relations. He also runs the day-to-day operations of Nodal Seismic, the geological imaging company owned by Signal Hill Petroleum, created to gather 2D and 3D seismic data. His community consciousness reinforces both companies’ missions to be a positive contributor to the environment of which they’re a part.


SHP is incredibly proud to have Dave Slater as a leader of the company. This award is a great way to recognize Mr. Slater for all the hard work and positive contributions he has made over the years. Congratulations on the well-deserved award.